More curfews ordered as Florence strikes the Grand Strand, Pee Dee


    MYRTLE BEACH, SC (WMBF) – A number of municipalities and counties across the Grand Strand are enacting curfews due to Tropical Storm Florence.

    Horry County Police Chief Joe Hill announced that a curfew has been enacted for Horry County and will go into effect Thursday beginning at 7 p.m., according to a tweet from Horry County Emergency Management.

    “If you are out in an area that has a curfew, you are subject to arrest,” the tweet stated.

    Horry County Police Chief Joe Hill: Horry County has enacted a curfew beginning at 7 p.m. If you are out in an area that has a curfew, you are subject to arrest.

    — Horry County EMD (@HorryEMD) September 13, 2018

    In Myrtle Beach, an overnight curfew will begin Thursday at 7 p.m. and go to 7 a.m., according to information from the city’s Facebook page.

    The city of Conway will also enact a curfew during Hurricane Florence, according to a press release.

    That curfew will be in place from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m., and will start on Thursday night and remain in place until further notice.

    City Council chose to put the curfew in place to limit the number of people out on the roads in dangerous conditions. The decision was made in a special-called meeting on Wednesday, the release stated.

    Surfside Beach has imposed a curfew effective Thursday, from 8 p.m. to 6 a.m. until further notice, according to a news release.

    Because of the executive order signed by Mayor Bob Childs, no one is permitted to enter the ocean, effective immediately.

    A curfew will go into effect Thursday night in Robeson County ahead of Hurricane Florence.

    According to a post on the Robeson County Government’s Facebook page, the curfew will begin at 8 p.m. Thursday and go from sunset to sunrise.

    This curfew will remain active until further notice, the post stated.

    Mullins is also enacting a curfew on Thursday. It will run from 8 p.m. to 8 a.m. every day until lifted, according to a Facebook post.

    Residents of Scotland County, N.C., will be under a curfew starting Thursday, according to a Facebook post from Sheriff Ralph Kersey.

    The curfew will run from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. until the state of emergency has been lifted.

    On Thursday, Marion County officials announced a curfew starting at 8 p.m. until 7 a.m. each day until further notice. The curfew also covers the city of Marion, city of Mullins, town of Nichols and town of Sellers.

    Darlington County Sheriff Tony Chavis and all Darlington County municipalities announced Friday that a curfew has been implemented and will take effect from 7 p.m. to 7 a.m. throughout Darlington County, according to a press release.

    The curfew will remain in effect until further notice. It applies to all except first responders, those travelling to and from work, and medical emergencies.

    According to a press release, the city of Hartsville has imposed a city-wide curfew effective Sept. 14 at 7 p.m. through Sept. 15 at 7 a.m. due to the impending weather conditions associated with the storm.

    Copyright 2018 WMBF News. All rights reserved.